If I Were To Share My Life With You…

If I were to share my life with you, things wouldn’t go well.

If I were to share my life with you, you would carry on the baggage from my former life. The life before I met you.

If I were to share my life with you, things wouldn’t ever be the same. My problems would become yours, my worries would be projected onto you.

If I were to share my life with you, you would have to be up for random long nights. The nights I spend wondering if things will be okay or if the people I have met are fine.

If I were to share my life with you, you have to promise to tell me the truth when I need it. You can’t withhold, boldly lie or ignore me without any reason.

If I were to share my life with you, just know that I would think about you all the time. I would think about your touch, your laugh, your smile and your blank expressions.

If I were to share my life with you, you must know that I put on masks. Perfectly smooth masks over my cracked one to try to seem put together.

If I were to share my life with you, you would have to be okay to sitting closely on a couch with an open fire drinking coffee or tea. And you would also have to be up for most of my ideas relating to adventure.

If I were to share my life with you, you would have to be the brave one sometimes. I can’t do it alone.

If I were to share my life with you, expect me to be your personal cheerleader. Expect surprises and expect bad gifts.

If I were to share my life with you, you would have to be brave enough to face my family and friends. Don’t worry, you will grow on them.

If I were to share my life with you, expect me to have a stick up my butt and act awkwardly in public. That’s just how I am built no matter how much I try to cover it up.

If I were to share my life with you, expect that I can be the laziest person on the planet or the busiest. I would always think of you as my steady rock.

If I were to share my life with you, note that my insecurities lie in comparing myself to others. Both intellectually and physically; however, I think I am fine when I don’t.

If I were to share my life with you, just know that my ideas can be *ahem* crazy and tasteless at times. But keep me in check if I start to resemble an “underground rave” of ideas.

If I were to share my life with you, know that you are in for the long haul. I want to hold hands with you on a beach when we are eighty.

If I were to share my life with you, I will do my best to look past your “flaws” and worries and accept them as if they were mine.

If I were to share my life with you, expect that physical affection is something I want. I want to feel you. All of you.

If I were to share my life with you, I would already have you.

Leave a Reply

